Due to inactivity the KDGA forums have been locked. All past threads are still available. Please join us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/kansasdiscgolf!

Random Rule #21

Out of date topics will be moved here.
Post Reply

Where can Kevin play his lie from?

A) The existing lie. The truck is considered a playing surface.
3
38%
B) On the grass directly below. The truck is above the playing surface. If the lie cannot be marked below, the lie should be marked away from the pin on the line of play within 5m of the original lie.If this places the lie OB,the shot must be played OB.
0
No votes
C) The truck may be moved, because it is in a group of obstacles deemed casual.
1
13%
D) Since the casual obstacle is partially between the lie and the target, the truck may not be moved. The player may play the lie on the line of play, no closer to the pin, and within 5m of the original lie.
1
13%
E) He can declare an unsafe lie and play 5m back or from the previous lie at the cost of one penalty stroke.
0
No votes
F) If what type of relief that can be granted in unclear, a decision will be made by the majority of the group or an official.
0
No votes
G) All, some, or none of the above. Specify.
3
38%
 
Total votes: 8

User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Random Rule #21

Post by Schoen-hopper »

2K is playing the 2006 Dynamic Discs Open at Jones Park, Emporia. On hole #17 (west course, long tee), he throws a shot that lands in the back of a pickup truck. The truck is parked on the grass, in-bounds. The area immediately behind the truck (away from the pin) is marked out-of-bounds.
User avatar
MOthrows
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:13 pm
Location: Yes it's important

Post by MOthrows »

Man, I was walking by when he landed in the truck, but I can't remember what he did. I think he threw the truck with the disc in it. :)
User avatar
McCabe
Regional Rep
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Discraft Country
Contact:

Post by McCabe »

Man, you should get the TD to NOT let cars park in the grass in-bounds! :shock: :oops: :D
2
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:45 am

Post by 2 »

Uhhhhh thats you!!!! :lol:
User avatar
McCabe
Regional Rep
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Discraft Country
Contact:

Post by McCabe »

Yeah, I know. But we also were not expecting 100 + players to show up either..
User avatar
2K
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Walnut Valley
Contact:

Post by 2K »

I actually had about 3-4 feet behind the truck where I could stand :)
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

Couldn't remember that part. Care to tell us what happened on that hole? How about on the next hole?

Btw, what is the ruling here? (Play dumb and go get Mace. Everyone says he's got a soft heart). :lol:
User avatar
2K
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Walnut Valley
Contact:

Post by 2K »

Mace told me I could take it behind the truck and it was safe. I UD'd over the trees and was able to save my 3. :)
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

I made a good drive on that hole, a good 2nd shot, a good approach, and a good putt and still ended up with a 4 or 5.

The next hole 2K is talking about throwing over the pond. I don't see anyway this would be advantagous. There is a tree right in the way, their isn't a good anny distance line for a righty, and the chances of clearing and getting a better score vs. playing safer and shorter to the left... Did I mention he was throwing into a headwind?

Well this line of thinking wasn't stopping Kevin. He throws his shot right where he wanted it. Then the wind turns it over. Everyone thinks that the shot is done for, but it keeps going. It ends up landing on the rocks 2 feet from the water all the way over by the Tournament Headquarters Pavilion. He threw the longest path over the water! It must have gone 500'. Next shot, ironically, he is totally blocked out. My drive landed 2 ft. from the road and I had an easy hyzer in. Again undaunted, 2K thows a powerful thumber that lands 10' from the pin. Good finish for an amateur.
Mace Man
Posts: 1368
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Salina

Post by Mace Man »

Schoen-hopper wrote:Couldn't remember that part. Care to tell us what happened on that hole? How about on the next hole?

Btw, what is the ruling here? (Play dumb and go get Mace. Everyone says he's got a soft heart). :lol:
2K wrote:Mace told me I could take it behind the truck and it was safe
803.05 C. Casual Obstacles: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players’ equipment, spectators, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round. Obstacles may not be moved if any part of the obstacle is between the lie and the hole. The type of relief a player may obtain is based on the location of the obstacle and is limited as follows:
C. Casual Obstacles: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players’ equipment, spectators, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round. Obstacles may not be moved if any part of the obstacle is between the lie and the hole. The type of relief a player may obtain is based on the location of the obstacle and is limited as follows:
(1) Casual obstacles between the lie and the hole: A player may move obstacles which became a factor during the round as described by 803.05 B.
(2) Casual obstacles to stance or throwing motion: The player must first attempt to remove the obstacle unless a portion of the obstacle is also between the lie and the hole. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, or if a portion of the obstacle is also between the lie and the hole, the player’s lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the hole, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie, as agreed to by a majority of the group or an official (unless greater casual relief is announced by the director). Alternatively, the player may declare an unplayable lie and proceed in accordance with 803.06.
(2) Casual obstacles to stance or throwing motion: The player must first attempt to remove the obstacle unless a portion of the obstacle is also between the lie and the hole. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, or if a portion of the obstacle is also between the lie and the hole, the player’s lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the hole, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie, as agreed to by a majority of the group or an official (unless greater casual relief is announced by the director). Alternatively, the player may declare an unplayable lie and proceed in accordance with 803.06.

Also you could not play in the bed of the truck because of:

803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off
A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc

A soft heart or not :roll: I beleive the ruling was right!!!!!
Last edited by Mace Man on Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
McCabe
Regional Rep
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 2:22 pm
Location: Discraft Country
Contact:

Post by McCabe »

Mace? A soft Heart??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

Soft heart, indeed. :lol: I didn't say that because I thought the call was bad. I was just referring to how none of us knew exactly how it should be played.


A) The existing lie. The truck is considered a playing surface.
B) On the grass directly below. The truck is above the playing surface. If the lie cannot be marked below, the lie should be marked away from the pin on the line of play within 5m of the original lie.If this places the lie OB,the shot must be played OB.
C) The truck may be moved, because it is in a group of obstacles deemed casual.
D) Since the casual obstacle is partially between the lie and the target, the truck may not be moved. The player may play the lie on the line of play, no closer to the pin, and within 5m of the original lie.
E) He can declare an unsafe lie and play 5m back or from the previous lie at the cost of one penalty stroke.
F) If what type of relief that can be granted in unclear, a decision will be made by the majority of the group or an official.
G) All, some, or none of the above. Specify.



So the answer is G) D, E, and F are correct.

A) The truck bed is above the playing surface. This lie cannot be used.

B) If the truck was not a casual obstacle, the lie would need to be placed directly below on the playing surface. This is not the case.

C) Casual obstacles may be moved, including a truck. But not if the obstacle is between the lie and the hole, which it would be in this case.

D) Is the correct call. There actually was some room between the truck and OB, so yes, Mace made the best call. Perfect under pressure. I once saw the guy get a royal flush on the flop and not bat an eye.

E) This is always an option.

F) This is what we did (asked an official). This is a good idea if you don't know. There is a penalty of one stroke for violating an obstacle or relief rule.
Post Reply