Due to inactivity the KDGA forums have been locked. All past threads are still available. Please join us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/kansasdiscgolf!

Random Rule #19

Out of date topics will be moved here.
Post Reply

W can play his lie from...

A) His actual lie or any lie on a 1m line perpendicular to the water from the disc. He can hold onto the rock for balance as long as he isn't touching anywhere closer to the hole.
1
9%
B) Declare an unsafe lie. Anywhere within 5 meters on a line straight back from the hole with a one stroke penalty.
3
27%
C) Declare an unsafe lie. Anwhere within 5 meters, but no closer to the hole, with two penalty throws.
0
No votes
D) Declare an unsafe lie. Play from the tee throwing 3.
0
No votes
E) Use the rule of verticality. Play up to 1 meter higher on the wall than the nearest point of OB.
1
9%
F) Use the rule of verticality. Play the shot 9 feet above from a point directly above the lie and within 1 meter of the OB line.
2
18%
G) Other. Any combination of the above. Specify.
4
36%
 
Total votes: 11

User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Random Rule #19

Post by Schoen-hopper »

Willis is playing the 2007 Doo Dah. He is teeing from the long tee on hole 18 at Oak Park. He elects to throw backhand. Right before his disc makes it to the green, it hyzers out and becomes lodged in the rock wall about 6 inches from the water. He cannot get a foot behind his disc and keep his balance.
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

Option F refers to a playing surface that is above the rock wall. It is about 9 feet above the water.
pironix
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Wichita

Post by pironix »

I'm not sure of the answer but had damn near had the same thing happen to me last time I played Oak this summer...
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

I've been in the rocks more than once.

What's going on here? Friz is getting more votes on his random bs than we are getting here.

I can tell you the answer is G. There is more than one option here that applies. Anyone care to discect each option and give the yeah or nay?

Stance and lie rules can seem the hardest to interpret. Look for the next one to be more difficult!
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

Reminds me of the basket on top of that rock at.... THE ROCK.
That hole rocks.
/-=\_29151~-^\_
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

A) His actual lie or any lie on a 1m line perpendicular to the water from the disc. He can hold onto the rock for balance as long as he isn't touching anywhere closer to the hole.
B) Declare an unsafe lie. Anywhere within 5 meters on a line straight back from the hole with a one stroke penalty.
C) Declare an unsafe lie. Anwhere within 5 meters, but no closer to the hole, with two penalty throws.
D) Declare an unsafe lie. Play from the tee throwing 3.
E) Use the rule of verticality. Play up to 1 meter higher on the wall than the nearest point of OB.
F) Use the rule of verticality. Play the shot 9 feet above from a point directly above the lie and within 1 meter of the OB line.
G) Other. Any combination of the above. Specify.



I'm going to go with A, B, D, and F.

A) Can a player can hold onto something while executing a shot? I thought I once heard a discussion that a players stance couldn't contact anything that is also closer to the hole. The only thing I'm seeing in the rules is that a player has to take a stance that results in the least movement of any part of the course. (803.04.D) This is pretty open ended, eh? If any stance taken must cause movement, how can the player judge what causes the least? Would leaning against a solid Oak tree be illegal, because it causes more movement than not leaning against it?

B,D) A player can call his own lie an unplayable lie any time they wish. (803.06) It does not have to be unsafe. They can take the penalty and chose 1 of 2 options for their lie (up to 5m back or the previous lie).

C) The more liberal lateral relief (for a 2 stroke penalty) seems to have been removed from the unsafe (unplayable) lie options.

E) While this one is technically correct, I was trying to distinguish the different interpretations for the rule of verticality. (803.03.D) The way the rule is written seems very confusing to me.

"The out of bounds line represents a vertical plane. Where a player's lie is marked from a particular point within one meter of the out of bounds line pursuant to the rules, the one-meter relief may be taken from the particular point upward or downward along the vertical plane."

Option E refers to an interpretation that the one-meter relief from the nearest point of OB can be taken upward or downward instead of laterally. This vertical relief would be limited to one meter.

F) The correct interpretation (I think) is.... when a disc is marked within 1 meter of OB, the lie may be relocated vertically to any lie the player wishes to throw from. This is what option F was referring to.[/quote]
Post Reply